UKYP election results

UKYP election results

The UK Youth Parliament (UKYP) can today announce the results of its first ever elections held in Northern Ireland.  The young people elected as Members of Youth Parliament are: 

Belfast East Matthew Carson
Belfast North Abigail McLaughlin
Belfast South Beth McDade
Belfast West Jennifer Devine
East Antrim Jemima Higgins
East Londonderry Jack McCann
Fermanagh & South Tyrone Colm Fox
Lagan Valley Asa Mallon
Newry & Armagh Gavin Fleming
North Antrim Emma Dillon
North Down Ruairi Kennedy
South Down Ryan Cairns
Strangford Jonathan Pyper
Upper Bain Timothy Eldon
West Tyrone Corey French
Foyle Nikita Harkin
Mid Ulster Amy Quinn
South Antrim Sarah Davies

Full election result details are available in this document – Northern Ireland Elections Results Over 7,000 votes were cast online at, with 54 candidates standing in total. 

UKYP, supported by the British Youth Council and the Northern Ireland Youth Forum (NIYF), held elections for 18 constituencies in the UK Youth Parliament, for the first time ever – mirroring those for Westminster. Previously, young people from Northern Ireland wishing to be part of UKYP were selected to fill the allocation of spaces.  With these elections, anyone aged 11-18 who goes to school or works in Northern Ireland was able to stand and vote. Letters inviting applications were sent to all schools and youth groups across Northern Ireland. Elections will now be held every year to choose the 18 members of the UK Youth Parliament from across the 18 constituencies that represent Northern Ireland. 
Martin McAuley, Chairman of the NI Youth Forum, said: “This election has been a massive success, for the first time young people from across the region have had the opportunity to directly elect their members of the UK Youth Parliament. I am pleased that the campaigns have been run in an extremely positive and respectful manner, something that perhaps our elected adult decision makers could learn from. I’d advise those who were not lucky enough this time round to remain hopeful, there will be exciting opportunities coming forth in the next few weeks for them to invest their energies in”
Jack McCann, newly elected MYP for East Derry-Londonderry, said: “It’s an honour to be made the first ever elected youth representative for East Derry-Londonderry. By championing the voice of young people and establishing good links with our MP, MLAs and local councillors – while holding them to account – I hope to produce the democratic dividend from your investment in me.” 
Emma Dillon, newly elected MYP for North Antrim said: “Being able to represent my constituency of North Antrim is a great privilege. It’s an honour to be able to be a spokesperson for the young people and to get the opportunity to make our views heard. I am so thankful for all of the support I got from the young people of North Antrim and I hope I do them proud in representing them in the Youth Parliament.” 
Ben Mallon, Trustee of the British Youth Council, the charity which runs the UK Youth Parliament and former Chair of the Northern Ireland Youth Forum said: “I am delighted that over 7,000 young people in Northern Ireland took the opportunity to vote for young people to represent them through the UK Youth Parliament. As the first election I am pleased that pupils in over 130 schools voted, and 12 schools will receive democracy awards for their excellent turnouts. Congratulations to all the candidates for taking part and well done to the winners.”

Related Posts